General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Help needed salvaging a bad situation

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2015, 09:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help needed salvaging a bad situation

Hello everyone, first off i'd like to thank everyone on this forum for their advice and repair tips i've gotten over the years, this is my first time posting but certainly not my first visit. I'm trying to help my parents out of a bad situation and could really use some advice. Two years ago my parents, (long time volvo fans) decided to upgrade from a 240 to a 1998 V70 with around 200,000 miles at the time, and loved it so much they bought another used 2000 S70 a few months later.

Two years later both cars are now junk, which in a weird way is a relief because they did more damage while they were "running" than they did by dying. The V70 was a black hole for money whose greed would impress most politicians. In two years they spent around five grand in repairs, and most parts were installed by my father and/or myself to cut down on cost. The S70 ran like a champ for two years and then one week my parents were stranded on the highway from a bad alternator, they took it to the nearest shop which replaced the malfunctioning alternator, a day later it failed to start again so they brought it back to the repair shop, (they cant remember what the problem was this time) but they told the mechanic to replace the timing belt while he was under the hood. Two days later the cog/wheel that the timing belt runs on cracked in half and when my parents brought the car back a 3rd time in a WEEK, they were told the engine would need between $1500-3000 in repairs to fix it again.