Volvo Forums - Photo Galleries - Create an Account

Go Back   Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum > General Volvo Forums > Forum Issues

Welcome to Volvo Forums!
Welcome to Volvo Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Volvo Forums today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:21 AM
Red October Red October is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 22
Default Is this for real?

Quote:
JamesWilliams
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: US
Posts: 0


Take measures immediately!
Dear, red october!

Spam sending from your computer was detected.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://remove-malware.servebbs.org/online-scanner/red october
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.).

----------------------------------------------------
Forum Administration volvoforums.com
If this is real, please let me know, if not, someone is spamming me accusing me of spamming, which I certianly do not...

Thanks In Advance.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on VolvoForum!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:25 AM
Red October Red October is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
03-05-2010, 09:08 PM
MichealUllman
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: US
Posts: 0


Take measures immediately!
Dear, red october!

Spam sending from your computer was detected.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://securitytool-2010.net/online-scanner/red october
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.).

----------------------------------------------------
Forum Administration volvoforums.com
Got it again. Please know that I do not spam. Is this someone spamming me? I am hesitant to click on the link.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2010, 06:34 PM
Somthngfrce's Avatar
Somthngfrce Somthngfrce is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 2,489
Send a message via AIM to Somthngfrce
Default

This is spam! I will delete that user if I can find him on the members list! Ironically, I got the same message on turbobricks.com and another forum.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2010, 06:50 PM
Somthngfrce's Avatar
Somthngfrce Somthngfrce is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 2,489
Send a message via AIM to Somthngfrce
Default

Cleaned house!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2010, 01:24 AM
TIPSP's Avatar
TIPSP TIPSP is offline
Got Boost?
1991 Volvo 745
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 3,118
Send a message via AIM to TIPSP
Default

No site should ever send a message like that. it is just stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2010, 12:29 AM
re100005 re100005 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Somthngfrce View Post
Cleaned house!
What is the best method of dealing with this Spam? Most of these are "new users' and I've added many of them to the Ignore list. But I feel there should be some way of notifying a moderator or admin to get these accounts killed. Is this the best place to do it or what should be the prescribed process.
__________________
RE100005
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2000 Volvo S80 T6 2.8T
2003 Ford Expedition EB 5.4L 4WD
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2010, 10:55 AM
jks2 jks2 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Posts: 3,799
Default

You can PM any of us mods and we'll take care of cleaning it up and banning the user.
__________________
If I couldn't drive a Volvo. . . Well I guess I'd just walk.

2005 Nissan Altima 3.5SE
2002 S60
1996 850 GLT Sedan
1996 Toyota Avalon
1996 Chevy Tahoe
1977 Chevy Corvette
2000 Ranger R83 Bass Boat
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2010, 09:57 PM
Lyonsroar's Avatar
Lyonsroar Lyonsroar is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 691
Default

Yes, delete the message and PM a mod. I'd be more than happy to take care of it.

DO NOT under ANY circumstances click that link!
__________________
Previous: 2000 Volvo S40 1.9T
Current:
2009 MazdaSpeed3
Crystal White Pearl
AEM SRI
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2010, 07:34 PM
re100005 re100005 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks!
__________________
RE100005
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2000 Volvo S80 T6 2.8T
2003 Ford Expedition EB 5.4L 4WD
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 07:34 PM
Reply

Tags
check, computer, detected, forum, highly, httpremovemalwareservebbsorg, httpremovemalwareservebbsorgonlinescanner, immediately, measure, measures, post, recommend, sending, spam, take


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Volvo Accessories

- Dog Seat Covers
- Husky Liners
- EBC Brakes
- Hawk Brake Pads
- Car Floor Mats
- Wood Dash Kits
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.