1988 volvo 740 turbo: no power to one fuel injector

Old 01-19-2012, 04:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1988 volvo 740 turbo: no power to one fuel injector

hello everybody,

this is my first time posting so i'll start with a brief introduction. i'm from portland, maine and drive a 1988 volvo 740 turbo wagon. beautiful car with a couple of hopefully small issues to work out.

the biggest issue i'm currently having is that the car is running on only three cylinders. after doing some diagnostics and troubleshooting i've eliminated the ignition system (replaced cap and rotor, plugs, plug wires and tested for spark on each cylinder). my mechanic helped me narrow it down to the fourth fuel injector, and on his advice i bought a used injector and replaced it today, unfortunately to no avail. after i replaced it, started the car and was frustrated the lack of good a new injector did, i checked for voltage to the injector and had none. i suppose i should have checked that first, but i didn't. i then checked the voltage going to the third cylinder and lo and behold..that injector seems to be receiving proper voltage. i even swapped the wires to the third and fourth injectors and simulated the same poor running condition, but on a different cylinder.

so i guess my question is where do i turn next to restore power to this cylinder's injector? are there certain ground connections i can check? is it possibly related to a bad ECU or fuel relay?

very much appreciate the input!

Old 01-19-2012, 07:11 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Be careful with the wires on that car. I had a '87 and the wires under the hood went bad and the coating on the wires rotted off and allowed bare wires to touch each other and short things out. Hopefully you have newer harnesses.

Other than the plain old BAD WIRES I really don't know.

Old 01-19-2012, 08:28 PM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by 88turbo
hello everybody,