running probs with 240GL - poss vandalism

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2005, 11:31 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default running probs with 240GL - poss vandalism

hi folks, newbie here with a very long post - sorry but if you could read to the end and offer assistance id be grateful.

back in dec last year my beloved 240gl saloon, born '91, suffered a running prob, so severe that it *died*! the long and the short of it is that its been vandalised, my OH, before he walked out, did *summat* to it - in the past he was known for putting sugar in the fuel tank of cars belonging to folk he didnt like! unfortunately the ins co isnt having it , not no way, not no how!

history-wise it went like this ........ car smeared in bumper *enhancer*, nails put under tyres etc, police called, ins co advised. police advised moving car to safe location, did that! 2 days later car refused to start, police and ins co updated. ins co were going to collect car but didnt - turned out OH phoned them and told them i was making a fraudulent claim! OH got car towed away and *repaired* - leads changed, car running again but guzzling fuel like its going out of fashion (was getting around 30mpg, now getting about 15!), my mechanic (good volvo trained chap) found that a lead to i think summat to do with the air intake? (sorry, not tech person!) had been tampered with! car being right PITA, loads coughing, spluttering and still drinking fuel like crazy, mechanic runs diags which are inconclusive, replaces plugs and flushes fuel system. car eventually dies after expelling huge clouds black stinking fumes from exhaust.

ins co still not having anything to do with it saying its maintenance prob - yeah right - it dies AFTER the leads, plugs etc been changed! car then sits on my driveway for ten months whilst i argue with ins co!