Help with Climate Control and unfamiliar dash warning light...

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2012, 11:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Climate Control and unfamiliar dash warning light...

Hi guys, I'm new to Volvo's although not new to working/tinkering with cars.

I have a 1997 960 that has a few issues I want to address.

First:
The a/c does not work:
Name:  960climatecontrol.jpg
Views: 1977
Size:  13.9 KB

- pressing the a/c button does not light it up, should it?
- whether a/c is on OR off, changing temperature does not seem to affect anything, air coming out of vents is always hot

Based on that, I am wondering if there are two issues, a/c doesn't even engage (I don't hear the click or fan come on when pressing a/c button), and also if the temperature adjustment is broken.

What steps can I go to verify this?

Second issue:
My gauge cluster looks like this:
Name:  960gaugecluster.jpg
Views: 1184
Size:  19.8 KB

There is a snow button on the lower left that the manual I have doesn't show. It's always illuminated, do you know what it is?

Old 06-10-2012, 05:52 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by derekmw
- pressing the a/c button does not light it up, should it?
- whether a/c is on OR off, changing temperature does not seem to affect anything, air coming out of vents is always hot

Based on that, I am wondering if there are two issues, a/c doesn't even engage (I don't hear the click or fan come on when pressing a/c button), and also if the temperature adjustment is broken.

What steps can I go to verify this?
AC button pushed down (Compressor is activated) is illuminated blue. Two possibilities: either the light-bulb is burnt, or the AC Module (shown in your photo) is not functioning correctly. Some of these units suffer from cracked soldered connections, which can be seen with a magnifying glass, and re-flowed.