Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

A how to for PCV system for beginners

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2008, 10:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A how to for PCV system for beginners

If you stop by the mechanic because you have oil on the top of the engine, under the spark plug cover, or smoke is coming out of the dip stick, they will probably tell you your crankcase ventilation system is shot. They will then say its between $600-$800 to replace it. Say thanks, but I can do it myself. I am fairly new to working on cars, escpecially volvos, but found the system to be easy to replace, for the most part. I did it on a 95 850 turbo. 3 weeks ago I had no idea what a PCV system was, but through this site I found out and knew my car needed it replaced. In 12 hours I had it done. If you follow my tidbits of advice a newbie could be done in 8 hours.

1st go to fcpgroton.com and order the correct system for your car. Order the whole system, except for the expensive intake hose unless your car needs a new one. Order a EGR valve gasket and throttle body gasket while your at it. Also order all knew gaskets/seals for your fuel ignitors. There are 4 per ignitor, totalling 20. You can do it without new ones, as long as your willing to scrub them with a soft bristled brush and use mechanic style soap you use on your hands. No dish detergent. They will clean up, but when you take the injectors out you may lose a few seals, that why I would buy all new ones. Also buy a mixed assortment of hose clamps to replace all hoses, unless you want to use the ones that come with your order. They are the standard volvo ones that are a pain in the neck. Once you have all these parts its time to begin.