Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Loud Fuel Pump... that was just replaced, '94 wagon

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2017, 05:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loud Fuel Pump... that was just replaced, '94 wagon

Hey all, been here a few times this past year. I'm a very amateur repairman, very limited skillset.

I have a guy that's helped me repair a few parts on the cheap this past year - sensors and the like. I've replaced the heater core and blower motor.

Over the past six months, the idle has been extremely rough. The lower the gas in the tank, the rougher the idle, to the point of stalling. I hear the fuel pump whining.

Perhaps without diagnosing the problem more like a should have, I get the fuel pump replaced yesterday. It now drives like a charm, but after a few minutes of driving, the new fuel pump is making a much louder noise than it had the first minute I turned it on, a high whining struggling sound that I can hear from the front seat. The guy who replaced the pump says to change the fuel filter... which was four years old. I replaced the fuel filter this morning... the fuel pump is still making a loud whining noise.

Here's another small detail: when I replaced the fuel filter, I had bled the line of pressure. When I was priming the system, after putting the filter in - turning the car's power on and off three times to prime the pump, the fuel pump was nice and quiet - the first two 'primes.' On the third prime, once the fuel hit the engine, suddenly the pump became super loud, and hasn't quieted down since.