Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

2001 S40 Sensor Diagnostic Code “Whack-A-Mole”

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2013, 09:19 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 S40 Sensor Diagnostic Code “Whack-A-Mole”

UPDATE: 4/15/13
After 3 weeks of no CEL codes and the car running GREAT, I'm getting the P0128 Coolant Temp Sensor Code again. I replaced the Thermostat and Sensor already. I cleared the code and it's gone away, for now. Any thoughts? Thanks! - Geno

~~~~~~~
First off I want to express my appreciation and gratitude to this forum for all of the GREAT posts, detective work and documentation that has been done here on behalf of Volvo owners! I have been chasing diagnostic error codes for about 3 months and have finally gotten to what seems like (knock wood!) the last of them.

I would like to contribute in some small way to the forum, so in that vein, I will post my troubleshooting journey along with some information about where I found the various parts and pieces for what seem to be to be “reasonable” prices.

Actually, Amazon.com has most of these parts in stock… and if you have a “Prime” account with them, 2 day shipping is free. I’ve shortened the Amazon URLs to make the post a little more readable.

Parts:
Beck Arnley 178-8419 Direct Ignition Coil - $40 each (2 required)
(Note: AutoZone locally carried these for $49, but matched the price for Amazon, so I got them locally and, in fact, they were VOLVO branded parts!)
Beck Arnley 178-8419 Direct Ignition Coil : Amazon.com : Automotive

EvanFischer EVA140828407 Plastic Blade-Type Male Terminal Mass Air Flow Sensor - $57 (Called MAF Sensor)
EvanFischer EVA140828407 Plastic Blade-Type Male Terminal Mass Air Flow Sensor : Amazon.com : Automotive

Standard Motor Products AC513 Idle Air Control Valve - $135 (Called IAC Valve)
(Note: NO gasket included, I made one, in case I needed it, but the existing one was in good shape, so I reused it)