Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Cam alignment and tool 999-5452

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2010, 10:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam alignment and tool 999-5452

Hello, new to the forum here, thanks for all the info and help I've received already.

I am an ASE Master Tech and have done scores of T-belts and cam seals, but always on Asian or American stuff, so imagine my surprise when I whipped off the cam pulleys like I have done dozens of times, and found that there is no key to align the pulley when you put it back together.

I've read everything I can find on this, but I still have a couple of things I don't understand. I never work on these cars, and am only doing it because it is a friend, but now I've got to get it back together.

Here's where I'm at:
I did not buy tool 999-5452, but I do have the notches in the back of the cams aligned with the seam between the head and cam cover. They are perfectly aligned.
Also I installed the pulleys and aligned their notches with the notches in the t-belt cover. I do not understand why this won't work. I did not loosen the small bolts that hold the t-belt sprocket to the vvt unit. I only loosened the center bolt on the vvt.
I am confident that with a spanner wrench holding the pulley that I can torque the center bolt, but the book describes a process of turning the vvt unit one way and then the other, but I don't really see what they are turning. I took the unit off with pulley and vvt together, and don't see what turns unless I take it further apart.
If I have the notches in the back of the cams in line, and the notches all on their marks on the t-belt end, am I good? Is there something that I am missing?

Thanks for the help,
Gary

Old 11-19-2010, 02:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Got it!!! even without the tool.