Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Newbie here with a question

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2014, 07:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here with a question

I did what all good newbies should and spent the last 2 hours looking through this forum for answers I needed. My 2002 s40 sometime won't s h i f t at all in D and sometime it will s h i f t all the way to 4th most of the time not at all. manually it will shift to 3rd and if you run it in third for a while and put it in drive it will go into 4th but never 5th. I've read about solenoids, tranny additive
valve body, transmission control module. Any additional thoughts? thanks in advance. Newbie Robert Carter.

Last edited by Robert Carter; 06-04-2014 at 07:41 PM.
Old 06-04-2014, 07:40 PM

How many miles? Have you looked at and smelled the fluid? Has the fluid ever been changed?

Old 06-04-2014, 08:34 PM

Just got car 3 days ago 208,000 the fluid looks and smells brand new, I traded my 2000 Mountaineer which was in good shape, nothing fancy, but was a gas hog. I traded for the gas mileage and safety. I didn't realize the shifting problem until later.

Old 06-06-2014, 09:26 PM

Any additional thoughts?

Old 06-06-2014, 11:26 PM

It may be possible the wrong transmission fluid was used, more than likely your transmission is the Asian/Warner, I would figure the fluid should be synthetic for this but the year of your Volvo may not call for that.
Last resort would to use an additive as the delicate valving may be affected adversely. Also If the A/W is as mine, a 2004 old style, then your transmission is a five speed. Makes for good mileage!