Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Upgrading my 1.9t

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2015, 02:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrading my 1.9t

Hello everyone,

So I'm new to not only this forum but Volvo's in general. For the longest time I was a strictly American domestic car guy. I wouldn't touch anything that wasn't one of the big three (GM, Ford, Mopar). Now I bought a 2001 S40 last weekend and my wife gave me the green light to tweak it a lil bit. I'm looking for basic stuff such as intake, exhaust, header. However I think I may want to start messing with the turbo. This is the first car I've ever owned that was turbo so I'm not all that knowledgeable on them. I do however have a slight understanding of them and could very easily read up on them. So all of this being said, I'm reaching out to you more experienced and knowledgeable guys for advice on what parts and pieces would be good for gains, both in power and mpg. I don't have an unlimited budget but I do have a couple hundred or so that I can play with right now. So any help would be appreciated and I look forward to reading some responses. Thank you.

Old 06-19-2015, 03:59 PM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts

See the similar post from PattonVolvo with some ideas and after market parts.

My suggested order of upgrades would be as follows:

1. Upgrade wheels tires. You can find factor 16 wheels from the 2003/4s for a good price

2. Upgrade rear sway bar. This will balance the handling to more neutral without stiffening the front.

3. reprogram the ECU. A "reflash" of the ECU is a fast way to add 35-40 HP.

4. add a KN free flow filter

5. add a larger/free flow downpipe (helps the turbo spool up faster and run cooler).

6. add performance tubing and parts for the intake and turbo flow/controls

7. add lowering springs/performance shocks.

8. upgrade the 12T turbo to a 14T.

9. add a free flow cat-back exhaust.