Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

engine turned off while driving

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2010, 06:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine turned off while driving

I have a 2002 volvo s60 base model, and tonight while I was driving, the engine turned off, but all the electronics were still on. All the indication lights on the dashboard turned on, and it seemed like the lights dimmed a little bit when this happened. I tried to start the car up, and it wouldn't start. The engine would not even try to start. I shut everything off that I didn't need, and it started up and got home. This seemed odd considering all the electronics were still working, but the engine shut off. I thought it could be the alternator, but all the electronics were working. I am not a mechanic, and my mechanical knowledge is limited. I would appreciate if anyone has any information onto how this could have happened. Thank you

Old 11-14-2010, 01:53 PM
Default not good

sorry you experience this event, scary the least to say. Unfortunately these kind of problems are the hardest to diagnose. If you have someone with a decent code reader, maybe it left traces of it in the computer. Did the check engine light came on when (or after) it happen? Sounds like a short to me & if you have a circuit breaker in the ignition system that would explain why you were able to restart it afterwards. Was the car in the accident at any point? Try moving the wiring harness around the coils with engine running CAREFULLY and see if you can recreate the shutdown. Sorry not much else I can suggest.

Old 11-14-2010, 02:44 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Try cleaning your battery terminal post and look for any loose connection on the the