Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

Should I get an S60?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2009, 06:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I get an S60?

I just test drove an S60 today and instantly fell in love with the car. I couldn't wipe the smile off my face as I was driving it. It was a fairly high mileage Volvo at 94k but it drove like it was brand new. I noticed some cheap interior elements such as the cup holders and paint wearing away etc. but nothing that really bothered me much.

I've done my homework on the car and it seems that half the people love the cars and have few maintenance problems and the other half say it is a hellish maintenance nightmare typical Ford pos.

I do not have much cash seeing as I am a college student and I would probably purchase an S60 between 75-90k miles on it. All the transmission problems I hear making me somewhat fearful of the purchase as well as many other complaints regarding repairs.

I've known a Volvo mechanic for years and when I inquired him about it he told me the S40 was garbage, the S60 is okay, the S80 has way too many electrical problems, and that the S70 is a really good car. As I did more research, other people have told me that the S70 can have many problems too. I was also told that 2003 and above fixes many of these problems with the S80 but I am wondering if the same applies to the S60. Can someone clarify this?

Basically, I really want to get the car but if it is going to be an absolute maintenance nightmare then I should probably steer clear of it. Would it be a viable option to purchase an S60 given my mileage range? Are there certain years that I should purchase over others? For instance, should I steer clear of 2001 and 2002 but get a 2003?