Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

How I fixed my 2002 S60 instrument cluster

Old 11-27-2012, 09:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How I fixed my 2002 S60 instrument cluster

Just bought a 2002 S60 with 112K miles. The instrument cluster would work intermittently. All gauges, all lights, and displays, would work then suddenly shut down; go completely dark and gauges would pin out, then everything would come back on. On for 10 minutes +or-, off for 20 minutes+or-, an obvious short somewhere. I did notice at times I still had Temp and Fuel gauges, but most often everything was dark. Most posts pointed to possible cracked solder on the instrument cluster circuit board.

I removed and dissassembled the cluster. I studied both sides of the curcuit board, especially around the main wiring harness connecting pins, with a magnifying glass looking for cracked, or bad, solder joints. I found that someone had already made some solder repairs at the main pins. The job was sloppy with some solder splatters on the board. Some of the pins had a little corrosion. I cleaned flats areas with a cuetip and soldered pins with a small plackers dental brush, both dipped in isopropyl alcohol. I also checked the first foot of wiring harness in the car, that attaches to the cluster, for damaged wires. All wires appeared to be good. I reassembled and tested the cluster back in the vehicle. This did not fix the problem.

What I noticed when I reassembled was that if I pressed in on the exposed metal plate on the back left hand side of the cluster, all the lights and gauges would work. See link for bigger pic of exposed plate: https://i.imgur.com/nFS6B.jpg?1
Name:  nFS6Bs.jpg
Views: 2448
Size:  2.2 KB
This pic also shows my alteration to the back panel. You can see my "Fix" above the exposed metal plate. See next pic https://i.imgur.com/4Brcm.jpg , https://i.imgur.com/KYtAZ.jpg
Name:  4Brcms.jpg
Views: 2390