Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

Transmission Fluid

Old 07-21-2006, 10:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Fluid

I am pretty new to Volvo. I bought my 2003 S60 AWD a couple of months ago. I've been told to do a tranny flush by the dealer. What I need to know, is if I need to get a specialized Volvo transmission fluid, or can I just get an off the shelf fluid? Thanks in advance for any help.

Old 07-22-2006, 01:16 AM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: Transmission Fluid

How many miles on it?

Old 07-22-2006, 01:17 AM

just out of warranty

Old 07-22-2006, 01:22 AM
Administrator

If it doesn't look Brown and smell brunt don't worry about it now.

The Dealers try to make money off the flushes.

If you want to do it yourself then you need to see if your car uses Synthetic fluid or not.

Old 07-22-2006, 01:26 AM

Well it is brown and burnt, I know it needs to be replaced. I just don't know what it takes. It doesn't say in the owner's manual. Does anyone know what the dealership would put in it? I know that there are several auto manufacturers that require their engines to take the fluids that they manufacture.

Old 07-22-2006, 01:30 AM
Administrator

Call the Parts Dept. at the Dealer and ask which one your car takes.
I think there is 3 types of transmission on these cars.

If you want to flush it your self you wil need about 15 quarts to flush it properly.

Old 07-23-2006, 05:36 PM

Well, it's the geartronix tranny. if anyone knows.

Old 07-23-2006, 06:51 PM
Administrator

I think the geartronic uses regular trans. fluid and the other trans uses synthetic. But not 100% sure.

Old 07-24-2006, 12:15 AM

thanks for the input

Old 07-27-2006, 06:16 PM
Default RE: Transmission Fluid (IS Synthetic!)