Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

how to tell if heater core is leaking? why doesnt my radio reset after 3hrs?

Old 05-02-2011, 01:26 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default how to tell if heater core is leaking? why doesnt my radio reset after 3hrs?

Problem 1 . I smell some coolant when the heat is going. I pulled back the carpet on passenger side and didnt see any water. will check deeper when I have more time.

if I pull the panels off the sides of the center column and expose the core should I see the leak then?

problem #2

I left my key in ignition and swith on #1 with power on and i left it like that at least 3 hrs.

do I really need to have it like that for 4 hours?? really? that is so stupid.

I really want to get this radio on so I dont hear my dash squeak and rattle.

I just got this and I havnt had more than 1hr in it so I am really new with it. havnt had to time to do much with it.

Old 05-02-2011, 02:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heater Core

The coolant smell from the air vents is one big sign of a heater core leak. Another symptom is a greasy film/fog on the interior of your windshield.

Make sure you keep a close eye on your coolant level as it can drop very quickly with a leak at the heater core. I speak from experience as my C-70 is in the shop today getting the heater core replaced due to a massive leak. Despite the severity of my leak, there was no spillage into the cabin.

Old 05-02-2011, 05:12 PM

checked my coolant level it was fine but I am going to keep an eye on it. I might pick up a core this week at boneyard.

didnt notice a film or fog on the windshield. other than normal since it was raining today

Old 05-02-2011, 07:34 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

How to tell if your heater core is leaking... hmm. Go around to the back of the car. Does it say "Volvo S70/ V70/ 850?" Is it older than 10 years? Then yes... your heater core is leaking.