Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

need help with drivability issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2016, 11:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question need help with drivability issue

So i just acquired a 2000 Volvo S70 from a friend so I'm fairly new to the Volvo scene. The trans cooler hose popped off so i reinstalled it. Initially the ABS and the STC/Tracs light would come one intermittently and the service light at a separate occasion. I went to drive it when it feels like its about to shift i get a screech and the car slows itself down almost as if the front brakes are engaging by themselves. I read the it could possibly be the ABS control module so i got one from the junk yard and swapped it same thing. No DTC's present. Could anyone possibly give me some insight on what to do. Engine runs strong otherwise.

Old 08-07-2016, 10:57 AM
Super Moderator
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts

First thing is first......if the transmission cooler hose popped off DO NOT DRIVE IT until you check the transmission fluid level. If you are low on trans fluid you could damage the transmission. This could easily cause the screech and other issues when it is about to shift. Actually, it might just be a good idea to drain and refill with the correct type of fresh fluid. The service light is nothing more than a light that comes on at a set interval to remind you that you are due for an oil change It can be reset by a dealer or you can buy the scan tool to reset it for about $50 online. The ABS/TRACs light is almost definitely the ABS module. Do a search for Victor Rocha, and contact him. His business rebulids and repairs faulty ABS modules. He is very good and does the work at a good price. First thing is the transmission issue though, the rest can come later. Hope this helps.

Old 08-07-2016, 01:18 PM