Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

s70 glt - intermittent coolant leaks

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 01:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default s70 glt - intermittent coolant leaks

I appreciate any insight as to what this could be. I'm still new to volvos, and I really don't understand how the cooling system works in this car yet. It's quite a bit different than my old rx-7.

The car has had coolant leaks since I bought it. First it was the radiator, which I replaced. About a week later and a few miles of really hard driving it blew off the cap on the expansion tank and for the first time, started to overheat. Fortunately I caught it the moment I saw the gauge move from center. I had one of the coolant temp sensors replaced and it seems to have helped.

It doesn't leak while running anymore. If I drive it conservatively it will go weeks without losing a drop of coolant. But sometimes it will dump the all of the contents of the expansion tank on the ground. It leaks out of the hose that comes from the bottom of the tank, and its usually only when I drive it a bit fast. By fast I don't mean constantly redlining it, just hurrying onto onramps and passing. It hasn't overheated since I had the temp sensor replaced.

What could be causing this? If the turbo in this car is water cooled, the leaky line be going to that? Its starting to stay in the 90s all day now and I'm starting to worry about this. Thanks for any help.

Old 04-22-2009, 04:53 PM
Default Intermittent leak

My Volvo S70 GLT, year 2000 model also behaves similar. It runs fine with temperature gauge in the middle of the dial. All of sudden coolant from the expansion tank leaks out. I don't know where the leak is from. I suspect it should be from hose.

This happened twice. After refilling it runs fine.

Please share with me how to check the hose/pipes connecting the expansion tank.

Old 04-23-2009, 01:02 PM