Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

2000 S80 T6 - some issues that aren't really issues yet - a message and jumpy RPMs

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2011, 05:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 S80 T6 - some issues that aren't really issues yet - a message and jumpy RPMs

Hi all, so I am relatively new to the Volvo world, and my mechanical inclination is nil-to-little (unfortunately I only knew how to work on the 'o Civic motor and, hey! A 2T moror is [thankfully] nothing like that).

My hubbs and I are noticing a couple of things on the "new" s80. First, it's pulling a "gear selector reduced function" message... Everything is shifting fine, no hard shifts or anything like that (it's been a long time since I've had an automatic but even he's noticed no tranny issues). From a search I ran on here I'm assuming our winter/wet mode isn't going to be working... I'll check up on that tomorrow... I'm also assuming our shifter lights won't be working (not having an automatic for a while has made me incredibly unobservant to that, apparently). Add that to tomorrow's to-check list.

The second thing we have noticed is that at 60mph and/or around 2300 RPMs, the RPMs are surging a bit and falling back to normal. At first we thought that the "small" turbo just built boost and blew off at that speed/RPM range... Come to find out, they're both the same size. =-/ Can you tell it's our first Volvo? Haha. All dumb jokes aside, that's apparently not causing the issue and I really didn't know what to search for there. He pulled the air filter out and it's just nasty with dirt and dust... Add buy an air filter to tomorrow's list, also, but I highly doubt that would cause such a specific thing to happen. Any ideas?