Go Back   Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum > Volvo Vehicles > Volvo V50
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Volvo Forums!
Welcome to Volvo Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Volvo Forums today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2009, 06:30 PM

Default Code P0026

Hello, a newbie here.

I have a Volvo V50, 2005, automatic, 2.4l engine. It is sporting a P0026 code, that means Intake Valve Control Solenoid Circuit Range/Performance Bank 1, but I haven't found anything on the net about it and the stealership wants 400 bucks for replacing the solenoid and then we will see what the next code will be.

The check engine light comes after having a hard acceleration to pass some slow pokes on the highway. If the ride goes easy for a couple of days, then the check engine light goes off, and the OBD2 code reader can still get it.

Has anybody had that problem before?

Cheers
Old 01-31-2009, 07:58 PM
Administrator

Haven't seen that as of yet.
But the reset valve might be bad.
1994 N/A 5-speed wagon Purple (daughters)
Old 04-01-2009, 04:20 PM

I have had the P0026 code on my 05 S40 2.4i. I just had the dealer diagnose the check engine light and found that the real culprit is the battery. The car starts and runs fine but the battery, even with 12.7V out, does not have enough amperage to run everything properly and lots of codes are triggered that can only be retrieved from the dealer. I am not saying that this is the case for lomolover but it is a good place to start when trouble shooting for something that seems to be working properly.