Volvo V50 A sports wagon that is affordable, sporty and best of all, useful for almost anything.

Code P0026

Old 01-31-2009, 06:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Code P0026

Hello, a newbie here.

I have a Volvo V50, 2005, automatic, 2.4l engine. It is sporting a P0026 code, that means Intake Valve Control Solenoid Circuit Range/Performance Bank 1, but I haven't found anything on the net about it and the stealership wants 400 bucks for replacing the solenoid and then we will see what the next code will be.

The check engine light comes after having a hard acceleration to pass some slow pokes on the highway. If the ride goes easy for a couple of days, then the check engine light goes off, and the OBD2 code reader can still get it.

Has anybody had that problem before?

Cheers

Old 01-31-2009, 07:58 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Haven't seen that as of yet.
But the reset valve might be bad.

Old 04-01-2009, 04:20 PM

I have had the P0026 code on my 05 S40 2.4i. I just had the dealer diagnose the check engine light and found that the real culprit is the battery. The car starts and runs fine but the battery, even with 12.7V out, does not have enough amperage to run everything properly and lots of codes are triggered that can only be retrieved from the dealer. I am not saying that this is the case for lomolover but it is a good place to start when trouble shooting for something that seems to be working properly.

Also, I would like to thank the guys at My Swedish Parts for their help in the matter.

Old 05-25-2009, 12:26 PM

My 2005 S40 2.4i spat out the p0026 code as well. She was lacking power in the braking dept, and the engine was not putting out the power it should. I had the Midas guy check the brakes and pull the check engine code. The mechanic said it could be a faulty solenoid or just gunk/buildup. The engine light went off by itself a day or two later. Also, turns out that the air filter needed replacement which I took care of myself.