Volvo XC70 This wagon/SUV crossover offers the capabilities of an SUV without SUV size.

2001 XC70 rear end noise

Old 09-10-2007, 05:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 XC70 rear end noise

Hi everybody!

I'm a newbie to this forum and to Volvo ownership. I searched the forums and didn't find my problem addressed, so I hope someone can help me.

I bought a '01 XC70 with 103k miles sight-unseen. Really good price ($7500), but boy, I didn't know what I was getting into. I won't get into those issues yet, my main concern right now is a humming, whirring, droning sound coming from the rear end. It starts at about 20mph as a deep growl, get's higher pitched as I speed up, and settles into a nice drone by about 55mph. Changing lanes quickly DOES affect the pitch somewhat, but it doesn't make it go away. I've had the car a month and it seems to be getting louder.

I've definitely ruled-out exhaust and rear tires. I'm thinking rear differential or a wheel bearing. Any thoughts? What about costs if it is one of those?

Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm not letting this get me down, because even with it's flaws I love this car!

Thanks!

Old 09-11-2007, 08:39 AM
Super Moderator
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Default RE: 2001 XC70 rear end noise

If you are SURE it is not a tire then I would strongly suspect a rear wheel bearing. How did you eliminate the tires as a cause?

Old 09-11-2007, 09:26 AM