Volvo XC70 This wagon/SUV crossover offers the capabilities of an SUV without SUV size.

HOW TO REPAIR TIMING BELT HEAD GASKET BENT VALVES

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2008, 07:43 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HOW TO REPAIR TIMING BELT HEAD GASKET BENT VALVES

After bending the valves on my 1998 V70XC engine due to an incorrect timing belt installation, I decided to tackle the job of rebuilding the head on my engine. Being a carpenter, I decided to make some of the tools required for removal/assembly out of wood with what I had lying around my shop. Overall it was a good experience and I learned a lot about my car. None of it was very difficult, but I'm glad I'm a patient guy.

After disconnecting the necessary items in the engine compartment I removed the head assembly out of the car along with the turbo and exhaust manifold attached. My small Kubota backhoe was perfect for lifting it out of the engine compartment and putting it back in. Anything I took off I put in baggies and labeled them.

With the head off I could see the damage the intake valves did to the pistons. There were some very slight indentations on the exhaust side of some of the pistons but I replaced only the intake valves. Exhaust valves weren't damaged.

Not a very pretty picture.

A moment when I was trying to find the humor in all of this...

This was my valve spring compressor tool. I made this out of an old birch spindle I had. The taper of the spindle allowed me to fit it into the valve recess perfectly. I cut the fork on one end to compress the valve springs with a 12" C-clamp and remove the valve retainers with a small magnet. The recess in the other end of the dowel was perfect for seating the valve guides with the tap of a hammer

Valve guides installed