Volvo XC90 This mid-sized SUV offers the driver and passengers Volvo luxury and quality with sport utility capability.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing your alternator? READ!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 02:28 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Changing your alternator? READ!!

I am a mechanic who specializes in European cars. One of my customers bought a 2005 XC90 last year, and during routine maintenance several months ago, I noticed a noise coming from the belt area. It turned out to be the bearings in the alternator. Since it wasn't on the verge of immediate failure, the customer elected to wait until the noise started to get worse before having me replace it. Anyhow... the time for replacement came, and I ordered a new alternator from my usual parts supplier. Installation went fine... until I started the car. The charge/ battery light came on about 10 seconds after startup, along with a warning on the information center. I shut off the car and checked the connections... all was fine. I ran charging system tests... everything was working- proper voltage, somewhat low amperage, but that's not unusual for a fresh alternator, as the brushes have to wear- in a little. Seemed fine otherwise. After racking my brain, and those of some Volvo experts, (Including tech!) I decided that there was a problem with the alternator's communication with the ECU. So, I exchanged the unit, which was my supplier's "house" brand, with a Bosch reman alternator. Installed it... exact same problem! Finally, after screwing around with it again, I ended up sending the customer to a Volvo dealership. They used the car for about 3 weeks before finally taking the car in- with absolutely no trouble whatsoever, aside from the warning light/ message. When they finally took the car in, the dealership performed tests, and found that while voltage was correct, amperage was somewhat high. They removed the alternator, and found that the voltage regulator was the wrong type. It was fo