Detailing Discuss detailing your ride inside and out here.

Clear Coat Loss/Single Stage Paint Issue – Need Inexpensive Suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2010, 10:15 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clear Coat Loss/Single Stage Paint Issue – Need Inexpensive Suggestions

I’m a total newbie when it comes to paint, and I’m hoping I can get some suggestions from the group.

As you’ll see from the photo, the 14 year-old car is losing its clear coat in a very strange pattern (my thought is that the previous owner got a bad paint job after an accident) and needs a total repaint, but the $$ isn’t available and probably won’t be for the next year or two. My thought is a polishing compound followed by a good wax, but I’m wondering if the polish is going to have any effect on the area without clear coat. Can anyone advise what can be done to take care of the car? I don’t mind spending an entire weekend ‘scrubbing & rubbing’ if there’s anything that can help.

Attached Thumbnails -850.jpg  
Old 05-27-2010, 03:48 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

From the looks of it you have no clear coat and significant oxidation. You could try some products (I'm partial to Meguiars) that might help some but short of painting it I think you will have to live with it. Go to a store that sells automotive paint (not an Autzone or Parts Plus type store) and ask them for suggestions on how to bring the finish back as much as possible. It will cost a little bit more than just polish and will entail major elbow grease but you might be able to make it look a little better.

Old 05-31-2010, 04:49 PM