Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   General Volvo Chat (https://volvoforums.com/forum/general-volvo-chat-5/)
-   -   Is there any mechanic anywhere that can be trusted? (https://volvoforums.com/forum/general-volvo-chat-5/there-any-mechanic-anywhere-can-trusted-99810/)

bunchman 05-02-2019 03:04 AM

Is there any mechanic anywhere that can be trusted?

I'm a novice enthusiast. I'm proud of what I've accomplished so far with Misty. We have a great understanding and sense of mutual respect but, I feel we need to bring another person into our relationship. A stranger. An outsider. Someone who's touch is unfamiliar. I believe it's time for a Mechanic. I've arranged a meet and greet for us with an independent Volvo mechanic who comes with a recommendation from another mechanic. Does $90 dollars an hour with the hour applied to the first repair sound reasonable?

firebirdparts 05-02-2019 07:57 AM

Of course. Some guys just love to fix cars, and some of them are good at it. $90 an hour is a lot of money. If you are good, you don't have time to do phony repairs. You have enough work doing the real ones, and he'd be a rich man.

I have a dentist that clearly has been trained, in dental school, to not leave any money in my mouth. She sends an email out every year in the fall encouraging all her customers to max out their dental insurance. I get "automotive news" at work which is a dealer only magazine. That is basically what this magazine is all about. You assume the purpose of the business is to extract as much money as possible, and go from there. What activities are generating money? How do I do more of them?

Not everybody is comfortable with that.

You do need referrals for a thing like that and you need to build a long term relationship with the guy so that he also has something to lose.

Stinky 05-02-2019 02:23 PM

$90 an hour....way cheaper than the dealer

ES6T 05-03-2019 06:12 AM