New Members Area Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself.

Hi you all, how does a VOLVO for a gift sound?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2009, 12:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Hi you all, how does a VOLVO for a gift sound?

Hi, my name is Sanel and im new to European cars in general. I just got a gift by a friend who saw me taking a liking to her Volvo and when she bought a new car she decided to give it to me to do as i like.

I read some reviews on Edmunds.com and most have been negative but im sure its by non-enthusiasts and older folks that dont take good care of the car and go to the dealer for any little code. I read few by some people that dare work on their Volvos themselves and i liked what i heard. I dont know, do i make it my project car since i love the lines of it and spend some money to get it in tip top shape or do i just drive it until it gives me problems then sell it?

Its a 2001 V70 T5 Manual transmition
It was a weekend car, driven on highway but long distances (N.J to Washington - Washington to Hamptons in Long Island N.Y)
The leather seats are worn out, i would like to re-upholster them, re-do the interior.

I don't know where to start, how costly will the fix-ups be and is the car easily maintained. I owned and worked on American cars i had and Japanese on occasions but never on Euro cars.

I was thinking of buying Actron CP9185 Elite Autoscanner Diagnostic Code Scanner With Live Read, Record and Playback Capability For OBDI and OBDII Vehicles to make sure i keep up with electronics and any codes i get instead of going to the mechanic to do it all the time. Also i wanted to get a set of tools since on american cars i use american measurement tools so for european i might need slightly different set of tools (or maybe im a tool)