Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Penta (https://volvoforums.com/forum/penta-37/)
-   -   volvo penta ips 500 problems (https://volvoforums.com/forum/penta-37/volvo-penta-ips-500-problems-95909/)

suki01 03-23-2018 07:55 PM

volvo penta ips 500 problems

Hi all, newbie here.

Just bought my first boat with twin Volvo IPS 500, 250 hours on them, hull 2005.

Itīs been an absolute disaster, on the first journey, 30 mins after leaving the marina, the starboard IPS failed, heard a grinding noise come from the starboard engine so cut it and came in. There was no pressure holding in the gearbox, the engineer came out and took the IPS away to his workshop, a tooth had come off the gear set, run through the gears and cracked the case - full rebuild cost me 35,000.

On the second attempt to get her home, all was going well for two hours until the port engine needed to be shut down, apparently the top box has failed and the whole thing needs a rebuild again, sorry canīt be more specific!
I wish I had never ever bought Volvo, as a newcomer to the boating world this has become a complete disaster.

Bought from a broker, full surveys and engine serviced and checked, they say no warranty, not their problem. Just stuck with massive bills, is it worth it?
Has anyone experienced the same, Iīm gutted :(

Chazz1315 05-05-2019 11:26 AM

Volvo Penta Nightmare