Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo 240, 740 & 940 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-240-740-940-12/)
-   -   740T slight stumbling and hesitation under acceleration (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-240-740-940-12/740t-slight-stumbling-hesitation-under-acceleration-45060/)

Will1147 08-30-2010 09:02 PM

740T slight stumbling and hesitation under acceleration

Hi all. I am new to the forum and slightly new to volvos. My dad drives a '86 240 wagon which he bought brand new and has put 378000 miles on it. The car is 100% stock and we are both proud of it. Anyway I am a college student who knows a little about cars and bought myself an '87 740 turbo wagon. The car is awesome. Bought it for 2100 and put about 1500 in aesthetics, AC and a rebuilt overdrive.

The car has had many hours of TLC to get it back to tip top shape. I have all the bugs worked out except a slight hesitation under moderate acceleration.

I will explain the symptoms as best as I can and then state all the routes I have tried to fix the problem.

This stumble/hesitation happens between 1800 and 3000 rpm under very moderate acceleration. Full throttle the car is very smooth. I know that it is a lean condition because the plugs have a charred white color.

After removing the stock plugs I replaced them and found that after a few weeks the new plugs appeared the same.

The next thing I checked was for vacuum leaks. using propane, carb cleaner, and a hose to listen for the leak. No luck.

So did some research on what the AMM is and what it does. Grabbed some amm cleaner from kragen and cleaned the sucker and stuck it back in. No change.

I bought a new wax thermostat for the air box thinking it was sucking in hot air but the inexpensive part wasnt the cure.