90 Volvo 240DL Overheating right after start-up

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2021, 08:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 90 Volvo 240DL Overheating right after start-up

I've been dealing with my Volvo 240 overheating for about a month now. I've gotten rid of the temp compensation board and I just installed a new thermostat. It seems to overheat completely at random but it has been getting more and more common, sometimes I'll drive the car and it'll never climb past the halfway mark, but other times I can't even make it out of my driveway. I'll start the car and let it idle and the temperature gauge just keeps climbing, even with the heat going full blast. I know my coolant levels are good because I topped it off after swapping my thermostat. This is my first project car so I'm no expert, but all I can really think it maybe my water pump is bad? I noticed one of my belts has been squeaking so I thought maybe that had to do with it. Or maybe there's air in the system? If anyone has any suggestions or similar experiences I'd love to hear them, thank you.

Old 02-14-2021, 09:38 PM
Received 614 Likes on 579 Posts

Originally Posted by ryanh
but other times I can't even make it out of my driveway. I'll start the car and let it idle and the temperature gauge just keeps climbing,
It takes a few minutes for a engine to heat up past normal range. So if you are saying you start your car from cold and the gauge indicates over normal before you "make it out of my driveway" - there is no way the engine has had a chance to heat up that much. I would suggest buying/using an infrared thermometer to determine the approximate temp of the engine when the gauge indicates too high for your comfort.