Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo 240, 740 & 940 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-240-740-940-12/)
-   -   overheating issues (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-240-740-940-12/overheating-issues-56227/)

hillbillybuddha 07-26-2011 06:42 PM

overheating issues

Well, really not overheating but its getting really close to the red.

First, Hi. I'm Joel. Live in Miami and I just bought a 92 Volvo 240 for my girlfriend. It's her third. I'm a vintage motorcycle mechanic so I'm pretty handy with a wrench, but seeing as everything I work on is air cooled, I might need some help diagnosing this problem.

The issue:
Drove the car for about 5 minutes on side streets and it got over 3/4 of the way up the temperature gauge. Pulled over, and popped the hood. Neither radiator hose was full and or hard. The overflow tank was still full, I slowly removed the cap (it was on tight) but had no pressure. Looked like the water pump was new so I figured it was the thermostat (talked the guy down another $200 because of it) Bought the car for pretty cheap and drove it to autozone. $15 later I have a new thrmostat and gaskets. Borrow some tools and replace it. (Oddly, someone had taken the guts outta the old thermostat so it would flow freely) Anyway, that didn't help the problem.
I drove the car from West Palm Beach to Miami. About 60 miles. If I stayed below 60MPH then the gauge stayed at about half way, if I went up to 65MPH the temp would jump up to just below the red. I also turned the heater fan on, and that seemed to help a little.
What should I look for? Looks pretty simple under the hood and the cooling system seems simple enough.

Joel

abigweasel 07-26-2011 09:15 PM

It could be something simple like a temp sensor (two under the intake manifold) or it could be something crazy like a head gasket. Analyze the coolant to check for exhaust gas as it may or may not build pressure.