Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo 240, 740 & 940 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-240-740-940-12/)
-   -   Volvo 240 dl 232 and 212 codes (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-240-740-940-12/volvo-240-dl-232-212-codes-74724/)

Islandgirl806 11-08-2013 01:33 PM

Volvo 240 dl 232 and 212 codes

I'm new to Volvos and working on cars in general, so upfront let me ask that any advice be given in very simple terms.

I have a 1990 Volvo 240 DL 5 speed wagon. For a while now she has been giving me the 232 (running rich or lean at idle) and the 212 (o2 sensor) fault codes. I changed the o2 sensor and the 212 code went away for all of one short drive and then the next day it was back. No matter how many times I have cleared the codes, it is still there.

The engine shakes excessively, and sounds like it is coughing. Also she is stalling out much more easily at stop lights etc.

I have also just changed the oil and oil filter, along with the fuel filter. I've cleaned the spark plugs, but haven't changed them as they looked pretty good.

I read on other posts that disconnecting the battery can sometimes clear the 212 code, and I left it disconnected overnight but it is still the same. I have also heard that the 232 code can have something to do with vacuume hoses? But I don't know how I would check that out.

Any advice is welcome, I'm hoping to fix this myself as I can't really afored to take her to a mechanic right now.

Thanks in advance :)

TIPSP 11-08-2013 02:01 PM

Could be Fuel injection temp sensor.
Under the intake manifold.

Could need a valve adjustment.
Valves might be too tight causing it to run like that.

pierce 11-08-2013 03:51 PM

also could be air leaks in the intake path between the MAF and the throttle body.

if its running really dirty, it could have fouled your new O2 sensor in that day, bringing you right back to where you started.

whtwolf 11-08-2013 04:15 PM