Questions about purchasing a 940 Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2009, 02:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Questions about purchasing a 940 Turbo

I am thinking of purchasing a cheap 940 from a guy at work to save some miles on T5 S40. I am new to the "940" world and have several questions about the problems I KNOW about the car. Any opinions would be greatly appreciated!!!!

The Good:

1. He want's 500 for it
2. Just passed inspection
3. 233k miles
4. Doesn't use any oil
5. Runs strong
6. Everything works except AC.
7. Oil changed fairly regularly
8. He has had for 5 years with little problems

The Bad:

1. Intercooler connection hose/rubber clamp is cracked on driver side and it's "oily", on the oil cooler is covered with oil
2. Transmission shifts VERY FIRM and holds 2nd gear a fairly long time.
3. Top of oil pan is very greasy/sludge?

The Ugly:

1. The front suspension is junk.
2. bad clunking noise when driving on front of driver side (ball joint, end link or who knows?)
3. When coming to a stop and applying the brake, the steering wheel turns to the right and the front suspension shifts right?
4. When you let off the brake from a stop, the suspension & steering shifts back left?

Just curious what everyone thought about a $500 car with this much work in it. My confusion is really not knowing how much the suspension work would cost. I am use to working on all of my cars/trucks, so would these repairs be DIY or shop work?

Sorry for all the questions but I like the idea of a second car for cheap, provided I don't have to spend more than $300 in repairs right away. Plus, I really like driving the old 940!

Thanks!

Last edited by NCS60; 03-23-2009 at 02:13 PM.
Old 03-24-2009, 04:22 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post