Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

1995 850 Turbo Tempuature Fluctuations

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2013, 11:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 850 Turbo Tempuature Fluctuations

Hi everybody!

Hoping to get some advice on an oil temperature problem I've been having. First and foremost, according to the gauge the car seems to be running a little hot. See picture of car all warmed up:

When the car is cold the gauge actually starts right above the white line, so I would estimate that, when warmed up, the gauge is just a little over the halfway point. I haven't been able to get an actually temp reading yet, but does this look hot, or normal? (i'm new to volvos, and to turbos)

The next problem I have is the car seems to overheat slightly while driving in severe conditions (Mainly long sustained hills and city driving) The gauge will move a little less then halfway where the needle is in the picture and the red line. It wasn't until today I was actually able to see the needle move and it makes a really quick jump up, and even made a really quick jump down back to regular. My suspicion is either a faulty oil temp sensor, or a faulty thermostat. This is what I have checked so far:

-Coolant reservoir is at proper level.
-Coolant looks old, but clean (gonna do a coolant flush anyway)
-Coolant level doesn't really change, exhaust is normal
-No corrosion or leaks on radiator
-No pools or puddles of coolant anywhere
-Cabin heats up as it should, seems to affect needle
-Fan kicks on normally at idle, do not know what temperature though, doesn't seem to matter, car overheats at highway speed.
-Outside temp has been between 30F-70F

What are your guys thoughts? I'm thinking sensor or thermostat, leaning more toward sensor. Am I way off?

Oh btw car is:
1995 Volvo 850 Turbo, ~105k miles (odometer is broken )

Old 01-19-2013, 01:40 PM
Administrator