Volvo C70 This sporty coupe has a three-piece retractable hardtop for unsurpassed fun whether the the top is up or down.

2000 c-70 top won t close

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2013, 08:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 c-70 top won t close

Hi everyone, i am new to the volvo forum and look forward to learning about my car. I have a problem ( of course ) The top won t finish closing, front top locks into place but rear window won t activate and close. I noticed there are 2 spring loaded levers just under rear deck which are gear driven one side is free and pops up the other side is stuck in the down position. Can i manually put the rear window down. Thanks in advance. There is a cable that runs to that lever, i m sure to activate that lever and allow window to seat. Can i put the window down manually?

Old 09-19-2013, 01:22 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

With the car you should have a couple of tools which are T key to disable the motor drive and a small crank handle to manually open close the roof.

The correct details are in the owners book at page 122-123.

If you have no book you can download a pdf version here.

98 volvo c70 convertible 1998 owners manual.pdf

From the owners book.

Manually raising the convertible top

NOTE: The tools needed (A and B in the illustration) are located in the glove compartment.

If it should be necessary to manually raise the convertible top:

l Open the trunk. The trunk must be open during the entire procedure.

Open the cover over the convertible top storage space

l Insert tool A in the right-hand hole (2) and turn it counterclockwise one complete turn.

l Insert tool B in the left-hand hole (1) and turn it counterclockwise until the cover over the convertible

top storage space is completely open. This procedure could take several minutes.

Pull the convertible top forward

l Pull the convertible top forward to the upper edge of the windshield by pulling the rear brace (3).