Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo C70 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-c70-14/)
-   -   Top Malfuntion/Hydraulic Cylinder Top Trouble Code (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-c70-14/top-malfuntion-hydraulic-cylinder-top-trouble-code-93332/)

Bleu723 07-22-2017 08:42 AM

Top Malfuntion/Hydraulic Cylinder Top Trouble Code

I own a 2011 C70. My front headliner needs to be repaired and so I have been driving her with the top up for many months. In April of this year, my top malfunctioned even though I wasn't using it. I took it to the dealer and they said it was a sensor. They didn't have to do anything - just moved a few things around and problem was solved.... But last week, it happened again. I started my car after work and the alarm started. I took her to the dealer yesterday, and they called to tell me the code said it was the hydraulic top cylinder that has malfunctioned. But how can this be, especially if I have not been putting the top down at all?? I am so frustrated and sad by this. Dealer is telling me it is going to cost me 8000.00 to fix.

Can anyone one here offer me some advise please?!

Bleu723 07-23-2017 11:55 AM

I thought I'd ask here since this seems to be the place to go for information or advice from other Volvo owners.... But so far, I haven't received a response. I kinda get the feeling I am SOL.

The service adviser told me it was a complete hydraulic system failure... I am not so sure that I believe this is the case. I think it is something else. This is the exact same thing that happened a few months ago.... The adviser didn't list the trouble codes from the diagnostic report so I can't even look it up for more information.

Is there any way I can at least stop the alarm from constantly sounding?

Thanks!

Bleu723 07-25-2017 09:56 AM