Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Engine replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2013, 09:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine replacement

Hi all,

I am about to attempt to replace my engine myself, what advice or gotchas do you all have for me???
I have never done this before, I work on my cars as a hobby so I am not a complete newbie to the concept of auto work but I do realize I don't know what I don't know so please if you have the time let me know how hard you think this is. Thankfully time is not an issue as I have a garage and a second car to drive.

thank you,

Old 05-04-2013, 12:14 PM

I've done it. Here's my thread on it:

https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-...rebuild-68919/

The book says to remove with the transmission but I didn't. It's tight but can be done. To give yourself some extra room, I would recommend removing the oil cooler, crank pulley, and tensioner. You'll be able to move the engine far enough over to avoid damaging the flex plate. Also, the drive axle is bolted to a bracket on the engine block. Not a bad job really. Take pics and mark wires/hoses so you know where everything goes. Also a great time to replace your oil trap. Good luck.

Old 05-04-2013, 03:24 PM
Default engine replacement, different clutch plates

I need some help in what to do next with my engine replacement.
I have a volvo s40, 2005 and the engine is fried due to a broken timing belt. So I found a brand new engine, same year, same model (S40 Turbo) and I started the job.
I took the old engine out (including transmission), and today I unbolted the transmission and noticed that the clutch plates look different.
The first two pictures are of the transmission and the clutch of the original engine.
The third picture is of the clutch plate of the new engine (slightly superficial rust.
What part do I need, or how can I remove the clutch of the old engine.
Any help appreciated