Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

New to Volvos, have a few quesitons

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2007, 10:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Volvos, have a few quesitons

G'day,

I'm new to all this so please be gentle!

Well, I took the plunge and got myself a 1999 Volvo S40 T4 auto.

Very happy with the car, and very impressed with the engine, just a few quick questions and confirmations that will make me happier.

Firstly, the car has a 'ticking' type of noise from the engine, quite loud at times, I presume an oil change will get rid of this noise? What oil would be recommended. The car has about 180,000 kms on it but still runs strong.

Secondly, it does take a few goes (long cranking to start), from my research this indicates the fuel pressure regulator is most likely the problem, but I read somewhere that the S40 has 2 of them, can anyone confirm this?

Everything else is perfect, oh, the mirror adjustment ***** / switches seem a little 'sticky', that is I have to really move them to their full extension for th emirrors to move, I guess this may just mean the contacts need a clean?

The car is also a weird black colour, not pure black, but metallic but has a very slight tint of blue / green in the paint, I want to get some touch up paint for it so any ideas for a suitable match?

I've also replaced the battery and a new set of platinum sparkplugs so runs very nicely.

Are there any other items I should check out and replace / repair? The engine mounts have been done, gearbox replaced as the original had a vibration, the shocks done with Koni's, rebuilt turbo (standard boost), and new brake pads.

Sorry for the disjointed questions, but any help or suggestions much appreciated.

Thanks.

Colin

Old 11-09-2007, 05:25 PM
Default RE: New to Volvos, have a few quesitons

Geez,

Thanks for all the help!