Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

2012 Volvo S60 T5, Won’t start after relatively simple fix

Old 06-20-2019, 10:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Volvo S60 T5, Won’t start after relatively simple fix

First let me start by saying that I’m not a mechanic or very mechanically inclined, however I’ve had 2 mechanics working on this and they can’t get it to fire up either. So the car’s AC compressor went out months ago, and ended up throwing the AC belt, as well as the alternator belt with it. Since it was winter, and money was short, I elected to just put on a new alternator belt and I’d get the rest fixed later. About 4 months later and the alternator belt was thrown again. So we put on another alternator belt again, and this time it literally lasted lass than 1 day. This time since it was warming up, I had a mechanic put in a new AC compressor as well as put on a new accessory belt, and another new alternator belt. He hooked everything up, and it looked perfect. He went to start it, and it wouldn’t turn over. The belts are turning, and the accessories are coming on, but it’s getting no spark at all. We can’t figure it out. The car was running absolutely perfect before it threw the alternator belt. Minus no AC of course. So we hooked up a diagnostic handheld and it’s showing A P0340 code and at first it showed a P0365 code. I looked up the P0365 code. I cleared them and the P0340 code is remained. I looked it up, It said it could be the cam shaft location sensor and so I changed both of those, and still no spark at all, The other thing that could cause that code is a weak battery, and I believe that’s what it is, so I charged the battery and got the code to clear and still nothing. Anyone have asy ideas? You’ve got 2 mechanics and me shaking our heads as to what it could possibly be!!!

Old 06-21-2019, 08:15 AM
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts