Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo S80 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/)
-   -   2008-2010 Volvo S80 reliability? (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/2008-2010-volvo-s80-reliability-99380/)

robinsonhj 03-14-2019 04:12 PM

2008-2010 Volvo S80 reliability?

I'm looking at buying an S80 in the next few weeks. I've been looking at year groups 2008-2010 with less than 80K miles. Just need some feedback on those years.

blindkarma 03-17-2019 11:38 AM

Very reliable overall. Some reports of oil consumption, but most do not consume any when regular mantenance is done.

JeffTepp 03-30-2019 03:32 PM

My reply to this thread is based upon a 2008 S80 T6 with about 120,000 one owner miles that has been almost exclusively dealer maintained. While I have only known this car and its owner for a little more than three years, I have some prior Volvo experience that includes a 1971 164 and a 1987 740 Turbo Wagon. I am a long time DIY guy and have at LEAST average mechanical and troubleshooting abilities.

As a starting point, this S80 is a comfortable freeway cruiser that mostly does daily driver (commute) duty. As the car has aged, the cost/value matrix for dealer service sometimes is painful so I have volunteered to turn wrenches from time to time. Two critical comments include:

A component failure that in my experience has never happened before on any car I have owned. It is such a PITA to even access, it is a $1000 trip to the dealer (steering column lock sensor sending false message to control module preventing the starter button from operating. Note the column was not locked or jammed, the lock sensor failed rendering the ignition circuit dead,