Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo S80 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/)
-   -   Brake Change... (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/brake-change-7803/)

jgr021000 09-19-2006 12:24 PM

Brake Change...

So I'm not a car expert, but I know I need to get a brake change. Does anyone have any experience w/ going to Just Brakes to get it done? I don't have money for the dealer. As for a keeping it simple, I've noticed my brakes seem to stick a little bit and the rotors have developed a lip on the outer edge, aside from the normal wear of brake pads. I was told by a mechanic before that my calipers stick and whoever had my car before me didn't do a good job maintaining the brakes. But he ripped me off w/ some other stuff before so I didn't want to stay w/ him.

Anyone know the average cost for a brake job on an 2000 s80? I'd probably have to get my rotors machined... maybe calipers replaced?
I'd like to do most of it myself if it's not too intensive. I've changed brakes on other cars like my 98 Accord, but Volvo's scare me a bit. If it seemes like too much, any recommendations for a place to get them taken care of?

tech 09-19-2006 08:43 PM

RE: Brake Change...

Try to find an Indy shop that works only on Volvo's.

Just Brakes I don't think you will be happy with their service or their parts.

JPizano23 09-20-2006 02:44 PM

the brakes on the S80 are pretty simple, however DO NOT get the rotors turned, they'll look good and work fine but whenyou brake you'll hear a grinding sound. I was told that the rotors on this car are soft, but didn't listen. I don't mind the grinding sound as long as they work, but I don't know if you will.
To get the brakes done it ran me about 250 at firestone, but the second time, ( I had to take themout and clean them) I did it myself took me about an hour.

vex2000 09-20-2006 03:06 PM