Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo S80 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/)
-   -   New ECU - '04 S80 T5 - $2600? Help a newbie out!!! (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/new-ecu-04-s80-t5-%242600-help-newbie-out-50928/)

m1nels700 03-01-2011 03:08 PM

New ECU - '04 S80 T5 - $2600? Help a newbie out!!!

All

I'm a newbie, both to Volvo and to this site. Unfortunately my first post is about a malady that my S80 suffers from.

I took my 2004 S80 T5 to a non-dealer but highly recommended shop that is very experienced working on Volvo cars. After about 30 minutes of diagnostic time (no charge, thanks guys), they said I need a new ECU and gave me a price of $2600. Ouch. I'm somewhat regretting our decision to purchase a used Volvo right at this point, but hey let's forge ahead and put on the 'ol smiley face... :)

I understand that ECU's in Volvos are like Cardinals (mated to each other for life).

Questions:
- Is an ECU swap something I can do? I'm relatively mechanically inclined.
- $2600 seems WAY high. Is it?
- Should I bring the car to a dealer to see what they say?
- Is there somewhere else that I can get an ECU from?
- Any idea how long I can drive it as is?

My symptoms/issues with the car are:
- ABS light is on
- Warning message stating "Brake failure, please stop safely."
- ABS not working
- Cruise not working
- Traction control not working

The shop assured me that the car is fine to drive, and that my brakes will continue to work. He also said that at some point if I continue to drive it, the ECU will start affecting other additional things that are currently functioning fine.

Help? This sucker has 98,000 miles on it, and I know I'm due for a timing belt and service at 105,000 miles, and I REALLY don't want to spend $2600. Starting to think a Volvo was a bad idea... Please change my mind!

Thanks

Falasi4 03-01-2011 03:23 PM