Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo S80 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/)
-   -   Volvo shopping (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-s80-18/volvo-shopping-67910/)

MNT10 12-20-2012 12:30 AM

Volvo shopping

I'll be going in a couple of days to look at a '99 S80 T6 for sale on craigslist. The car has 141K miles and looks to be in immaculate condition from the photos, with an asking price of $4500. Does that price sound reasonable?

This would be my first Volvo, so I've been doing a lot of research. Most of the reviews I've found online say that the first year of the new model S80 was loaded with problems, and to look for a 2000 or newer. I'd like to hear about experiences with these cars from the members here, specifically regarding overall reliability and cost of repairs. As with Euro cars in general, I expect parts to be relatively spendy (I'm a professional tech so labor would be free). The Volvos I see at my shop are very few and far between so I'm not familiar with pattern failures; what are some problem areas I should look for during the inspection and test drive?

The EPA fuel economy I found was 16/25 IIRC. What type of mileage can I expect in the real world (I tend to drive gently)? Also, is premium fuel a must with the turbo engine, or will they still run well enough without spark knock on 87?

P.S. I'd also like to hear from owners of the S80 2.9, since I've been looking at other base model S80s for sale as well.

rspi 12-20-2012 05:51 AM

Listen to the reviews you have read and stay away from the '99 S80. I have never owned one but from what I have read/heard/seen, that is the worse car Volvo ever made.

The reason you don't see that many Volvo's in your shop is, Volvo owners are taught not to take their cars to general mechanics, only to a dealer or to independent VOLVO mechanics.

akabond 12-20-2012 08:43 PM