Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

looking for a little help finding an AWD wagon, what to avoid?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2010, 04:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking for a little help finding an AWD wagon, what to avoid?

Hey everyone,

i apologize for the n00b question, but i'm new to the volvo world. I had some wonderful news a few months ago and my wife is pregnant with our first child! we are looking for a wagon to be a 4th vehicle (we have 2 jeep wranglers and my truck, none of which haul the dogs and car seats comfortably)

we're looking in the ~5000 dollar range. higher mileage is fine (under 150 ideally) since really this will just be used for occasional family outings and to run 90 miles back and forth to conneaute lake from Pittsburgh a few times a year.

i've been finding lots of 99-01 AWD V70 and XC's in my price range on craigslist... i've also been finding a lot of AWD wagons with blown transmissions or tranny problems which is a concern. I've also heard grumblings of heater control issues.

I did a search but didn't find an exact answer to my question. If anyone has any suggestions on what years i should avoid or look for, and what i should check i would greatly appreciate it.

I've contemplated buying one with a blown trans and tossing one in from car-part .com but am leaning more to paying a few grand more for a running/driving one.

Thanks everyone!

Old 12-12-2010, 06:20 PM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default What do you need?