Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

Repairs mounting on 98 V70 AWD...worth keeping?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2011, 04:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Repairs mounting on 98 V70 AWD...worth keeping?

Hi, posting newbie here so forgive me if i am posting something that has already been covered.

I'm the original owner of a 1998 V70 AWD with 158K miles. This car has treated me well, but the repairs are starting to add up and I'm wondering if the time has come to move on from my beloved Volvo.

Here is what needs to be addressed:

1. Power steering issue (either the pump or the steering rack)
2. Clunking on driver side when hitting small bumps. Probably spring seat, replaced the passenger side before with similar noise. Original suspension still in place, so probably need to replace everything. Have replaced the rear nivomats once before.
3. Lower engine mounts. Already replaced the upper mount with IPD product. Also replaced the firewall mount. Engine still has a lot of movement when revved.
4. Driver window starting to fail.
5. Slow oil leak from the turbo

Last year, I had the radiator replaced and just replaced the driver axle shaft.

The engine still runs great and starts strong. I haven't had a tune-up in a while (maybe only once before). I have noticed that fuel economy isn't as great as I would like it to be (lucky to get 300 miles before the light comes on).

So with consideration of the above, I'm curious to know what some of you true enthusiasts think I should do. If I put the money in to repair everything and keep the car, I will probably also do some performance upgrades like sway bars and ECU.

Any feedback would be appreciated!

Old 04-03-2011, 03:11 AM
Default keep it, or not