Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo XC70 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-xc70-17/)
-   -   01 XC70 with low power/low boost (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-xc70-17/01-xc70-low-power-low-boost-27954/)

tcrossley 02-26-2009 07:25 PM

01 XC70 with low power/low boost

i am an ex BMW tech, but i am really at a loss on this. 01 XC70, 99k miles, i've owned for about 2 years 87k miles. seems to have been getting weaker/low on power. no CEL. seems somewhat intermittent. sometimes car feels ok, other times takes about 1" of pedal travel to get any power/move the car. have noticed it is really lacking lately, downshifting on hills, just working too hard without much grunt. researched this site, last week i replaced the turbo control solenoid, no change. i spoke to an area volvo shop, they suggested that i bring it in to check engine/trans codes. i have OBDII scanner, checked and was surprised to find P1238. i reset, and the car is definetly better, but still not right. i dug out an old stand alone boost gauge and hooked up today. this is what i found. about 95% of the time the engine is in VACUUM. at idle i have about 20hg, at highway speeds coasting have about 30hg. drive the car moderately, up hills with medium throttle, etc. never get to zero - if i give it about 3/4 throttle i get a solid 5psi of boost. i say solid because it apears that it is being regulated at 5psi, not floating/jumping around. again, even at 5psi the car really feels like its working hard, certainly not running right. there is nothing obvious, all vac lines seem ok, turbo cold piping hoses and couplers look fine. untill i put the boost gauge on today i was thinking possibly my cat was becoming restrictive, but i can't see exhaust backpressure resulting is a solid 5psi of boost across the rev band. any idea would be greatly appreciated. additionally, other than the low power, the car drives smooth. on the tur