Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum

Volvo Forums - Volvo Enthusiasts Forum (https://volvoforums.com/forum/)
-   Volvo XC70 (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-xc70-17/)
-   -   Camshaft Position Sensor??? (https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-xc70-17/camshaft-position-sensor-17158/)

Flyingdutchmen 01-31-2008 05:23 AM

Camshaft Position Sensor???

Hi,
Newbie here. I just purchased a 2001 XC70 and having a few problems. After driving the car for the first time, approx. 1 hour on the highway, I exited and slowed to a stop. When I went to step on the gas pedal to pull through the intersection the engine quit. I restarted, no problem. and then at the next intersection same thing happened. This time after restart, the check engine light came on and the engine began to hunt at idle. After one more quit/restart, made it home and plugged in the OBD and came up with P0014. SoI dida bunch of searching on the net, and it looked like either the cam position sensor or Cam solonoid. Since I had just purchesed the car, I decided to take it to the local dealer and have them plug it in and see what codes they could pull. They gave me all the test results showing ECM-644A Camshaft control - Faulty position, and the parameters of the ECM - Adaptation camshaft opeings 1,2,3,4 all at 20 degrees. The shop foreman said that if they were going to work on it, they would replace the solonoid. So I purchased the solonoid and a new gasket and did it myself. The old one did appear to have a little sludge in it, but no bad. Anyways, car started fine, and after about 5 minutes of driving, when stepping on the gas to pull away at an intersection it quit again. Then a few more times until I got home, and once again, hunting idle. I shut the engine off, waited a few minutes and restarted it and the check engine light cam on again, and once again the code was P0014. Do I need to reset the ECU for the new solonoid, and how?