2004 v70 PCV oil trap replacment

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2013, 10:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 v70 PCV oil trap replacment

First thread (of many I am sure) on here. I just bought an 04 V70 2.4: NON-turbo. Car runs solid. All kinds of previous work with receipts EXCEPT the oil trap replacement. Car runs great but with check engine light on took it to dealership for free initial diagnosis. Upon removing oil cap, loud vacuum pop and the idle leveled out. Said it was the oil trap and associated hoses. No leaks on the engine yet.

I've looked on her for a tutorial specific to my car but mostly see 850 tutorials. Is there something specif to the 2004 V70 that I can use as guidance? I'm not a mechanic but have turned a wrench in my day and am not scared to jump in to a project (pending it's not a massive undertaking. This one doesn't sound bad from what I'm reading).

I ordered the oil trap from FCP along with the intake manifold gasket. FCP said I need to worry about replacing the hoses so I didn't order them. Not sure if I'm gonna be kicking myself over that one later...

Any help would be great appreciated!

Old 09-18-2013, 07:02 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts