Tranny limp mode. Coolant in Tranny??

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2013, 01:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Tranny limp mode. Coolant in Tranny??

I am fairly new to the Volvo community. I bought a 01 V70 24(base) about 6 months ago needed a daily driver. Has 148k. Did timing belt, water pump, ext. struts, strut mounts, plugs, tranny flush, spark plugs, lowering kit and lots more. BUT, a few weeks ago I was at a red light and went to take off on green, the car hesitated when I took my foot off the brake, almost like it dropped out of drive. Took about a second after my foot was off the brake for it to go (after it jerked back into Drive). I thought it was the upper motor mount which is shot...Yesterday my tranny service required light came on. I took it into the volvo dealership today. They said that my coolant was a little low and that the tranny fluid was a bit dark and grainy. They said that the radiator failed and now there is coolant in the tranny and this is causing it to go into "limp mode" (neutral control).. They said I need a new radiator and tranny. quoted me at $6,200 for it... Is there any way to get around this by getting a new radiator, flushing tranny and coolant along with replacing the tranny filter?? PLEASE HELP!
Thanks in advance!

Old 11-04-2013, 01:53 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

It is worth a try. If the coolant didn't destroy the tranny, you might get by but if the tranny is damaged, you'll need a new or used tranny.

Old 11-04-2013, 01:58 PM

Originally Posted by rspi
It is worth a try. If the coolant didn't destroy the tranny, you might get by but if the tranny is damaged, you'll need a new or used tranny.
The tranny shifts fine. No hard shifting or hard gear drops so far..

Old 11-04-2013, 08:26 PM
Received 108 Likes on 104 Posts

Ouch. Bad luck there! What I'd do...

1) Replace the radiator (a no-brainer, that one).