Traction Control Service and Transmission Service message and 4 codes HELP

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2017, 01:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Traction Control Service and Transmission Service message and 4 codes HELP

Hello all, I've been browing this forum for the last 2 years I've owned this car but I'm making a post about some concerning behavior in my 2007 XC70.

Earlier this week I activated the winter button and all hell broke loose. Brake failure light, traction control service light, transmission service light, and the DIM went crazy. I pulled the car over, restarted it and it would idle but the gear indicator just showed a "-". I got towed out of the snow bank I was no stuck in and limped the car back to the condo I was staying in. Later that night I tried the car again, CEL was now off but the traction light was on. I drove the car for about 2 hours afterwards and that light went and stayed off until tonight. I have driven approximately 600 miles since this incident.

Now 5 days later I was driving, ironically enough, to AutoZone and I got the Traction Control Service message, about a minute later I got a brake failure warning. After this my gauges, especially water temp, went haywire. Tac and Speedometer were both in and out, and the brake light failure would flash on and quickly go away. I parked it, shut it off, and started up again. The transmission would shift into all 4 positions but the light indicating the position stayed in Park and the gear indicator just has a "-". All the same stuff that had happened after pushing the Winter mode button earlier this week. Additionally, I got an immobilizer warning when I was scanning for the codes, but this has since gone away. I was already on my way so I limped it to AutoZone and pulled the following codes:

U0002 - High Speed CAN Communication Bus Performance
P0863 - TCM Communication Circuit
P0700 - Transmission Control System (MIL Request) - not sure what MIL request means